Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1955-01-17 - 9:58 p.m.

Remember me Journal? It's Bobbie Sue Dicks. I wish I was an orphan. A new chapter in my life has begun Journal, and I fear there is no looking back. It all started at my uncle's wedding . I hate him.

Reasons why I hate my Uncle:

1) His name is Chuck Dicks.

2) He has two lazy eyes which always seem to settle on my chest.

3) He is a famous scientist and last year he was invited to judge our school's science fair. I worked day and night recreating a submarine radio. The fact that it actually worked and that he was judging led me to assume an easy gold medal. Instead, he gave the prize to Jenny Dooner. She researched the influence a high heel shoe has on a woman's thigh muscles. Her family framed the medal where it now hangs over her mantlepiece. I hate her.

After the wedding ceremony there was a big family gathering at the Lion's club. I thought this would be a good opportunity to drink something other than Kahlua. It seems so did my mother. Two bottles of champagne later she was asleep on a young man's lap while my father did his best impersonation of a happy man smoking with the boys . I quietly slid out the back door before my aunts could ask me why I was still single and if my mother had gotten me a bra yet. Once home, I crumpled into a dramatic ball on the floor and cursed my lineage, the stolen bouquet tucked in my bag. When I am a famous writer in New York I will hang it over my mantlepiece, a dusty reminder of a long ago embarrasment. Good night Journal. I missed you.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!